The FDA May Start Cracking Down On Calling Plant-Based Drinks “Milk”
Photo: MITstudio / Shutterstock
Try to imagine a world where you can’t order an “almond milk” latte. According to a statement from an FDA regulator, that might soon become the reality—at least from a semantics point of view.
Technically, the FDA is right: All your favorite plant-based milks—almond, soy, cashew, coconut, you name it—aren’t actually “milks” at all. After all, you can’t exactly milk an almond or a soybean. (Even though imagining them with tiny udders is hilarious.) But up until now, the FDA has let it slide. Because, well, why not? When you’re shopping for dairy-free milk alternatives, the label makes total sense and accurately describes how you use the drink and how it replaces dairy milk.
Of course, you can still personally call your plant-based milks whatever you want. Long live the almond milk lattes.